Ferry Prins

Group Leader

Ferry obtained an MSc in Chemistry from Leiden University (2007) and a PhD in Physics from Delft University of Technology (2011). After completion of his PhD, he joined the the group of Prof. Will Tisdale at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). There, he started exploring the optical properties of nanomaterial assemblies with an emphasis on excitonic energy-transfer interactions. With support from the Swiss National Science Foundation, he started his own group in 2015 at the Optical Materials Engineering Laboratory at ETH Zurich. Since Spring 2017 he is a member of the Condensed Matter Physics Center (IFIMAC) at the Autonoma University of Madrid where he directs the Photonic Nanomaterials and Devices Lab.

Ferry is recipient of an NWO Rubicon Award in 2011, an SNF Ambizione Grant in 2015, the Comunidad de Madrid Talent Grant in 2017, and a Ramon y Cajal in 2018.

Contact: ferry.prins[at]

Michel Frising


Michel works on the development of machine learning techniques for inverse photonic design, in close collaboration with the group of Antonio Fernandez-Dominguez.

Michel recently completed his PhD titled "Machine Learning for Probabilistic Design in Nanophotonics " at the UAM, co-advised by Ferry Prins and Jorge Bravo Abad. Michel holds an MSc in Micro and Nanosystems from ETH Zurich with a focus on photonics and nano-optics. For his MSc thesis he worked with Prof. Mikhail Kats at the University of Wisconsin-Madison on a device to enhance human color vision by breaking binocular redundancy.

He originally joined the group in the fall of 2018 after having obtained the prestigious LaCaixa INPhINIT Fellowship.

contact: michel.frising[at]

Alvaro Magdaleno de Benito


Álvaro recently completed his PhD at PhoND, titled Perovskite Nanomaterials: Transport studies and Devices. He holds an MSc in Physics of Condensed Matter and Biological Systems from UAM. For his Master thesis, he developed a biosensor platform based on plasmonic effects in the Microelectronics lab of the Applied Physics Department at UAM.

Since summer 2018, Alvaro is working at PhoND on the photonic structuring of colloidal quantum-dot assemblies. He joined our lab as part of the Comunidad de Madrid Atraccion de Talento program.

contact: alvaro.magdaleno[at]

Amalia Coro Gonzalez

PhD Student

Amalia finished her MSc of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology at UAM. During her Master thesis, she obtained a JAE Intro ICU internship to develop semiconductor nanoparticles as thermal sensors in biological media.

At the present time she is working at PhoND on the synthesis and characterization of semiconductor perovskites. Amalia is co-advised by Dr. Beatriz H. Juarez of ICMM-CSIC.

contact: amalia.coro[at]

Enrique Arevalo Rodriguez

PhD Student

Enrique finished his MSc in Physics of the Condensed Matter and Biological Systems in 2022 at UAM. During this time he collaborated with Eduardo Lee at the Quantum Transport lab of UAM on the fabrication and characterization of monolayer-bilayer graphene based devices.

Enrique is currently a part of the PhoND group where he studies the photonic properties of perovskites.

contact: enrique.arevalo[at]


Jesse Suurmond - ´22, Erasmus @ UAM (continuing at The Hague University of Applied Sciences)

Lea Visscher - ´22, Erasmus @ UAM (continuing at The Hague University of Applied Sciences)

Mercy Cutler - ´22, Erasmus @ UAM (continuing at Imperial College London)

Sorsha van der Ark - ´22, Erasmus @ UAM (continuing at The Hague University of Applied Sciences)

Michael Seitz - ´21, PhD @ UAM (now Junior Scientist at SPIDEN)

Ana Herranz de la Cruz - '20, TFG @ UAM (continued at UAM)

Maria Lopez Santonja -'20, TFG @ UAM (continued at UAM)

Daan Verburg - '20, Erasmus @ UAM (now studying at Delft University of Technology)

Sanne Walraven - '19, Erasmus @ UAM (continued at The Hague University of Applied Sciences)

Eva De Leo - '18, PhD @ ETH (now Scientist at Polariton Technologies)

Tim Lubbers - '18, Erasmus @ UAM, (now Technical Support Engineer at ASML)

Claudia Valkenier - '18, Erasmus @ UAM (now studying at University of Amsterdam)

Alexander Hernandez Oendra - '18, MSc @ ETH (now PhD student at ETH)

Stefan Koepfli - '18, MSc @ ETH (now PhD student at ETH)

Preksha Tiwari - '17, MSc @ ETH (now Scientist at Polariton Technologies)

Leo Spiegel - '16, MSc @ ETH (now Data Scientist at UBS)

Ario Cocina - '16 MSc @ ETH (now PhD student at ETH)